Compare Listings

Ifo is a local government area in Ogun State, with headquarters in the town of Ifo. Ifo local government area falls within the central senatorial district of Ogun State otherwise known as Ogun Central Senatorial Zone alongside Ewekoro, Obafemi Owode, Abeokuta North, Abeokuta South and Odeda local government areas. Ifo local government area also forms a federal constituency alongside Ewekoro local government area.

Ifo local government area covers an area of 521 km². The local government area is bounded to the north by Ewekoro local government area, to the east by Obafemi Owode and Sagamu local government areas, to the south by Lagos State and Ado-Odo/Ota local government area, and to the west by Yewa South local government area.

With a population of 539,170 as at the 2006 national population census, Ifo local government area is the biggest local government area by population in Ogun State, and the 10th biggest local government area by population in the entire country.

The History Of Ifo

The Government Of Ifo

The Ifo local government council is in charge of public administration in Ifo. The council is led by a chairman who is the executive head of the local government.
The Ifo legislative council make laws governing Ifo local government area. It consists of 11 Councillors representing the 11 wards of the local government area.

Wards In Ifo

The 11 wards in Ifo local government area are:

  • Agbado
    Ifo i
    Ifo ii
    Ifo iii
    Oke Aro/Ibaragun/Robiyan

The Culture Of Ifo

The Population Of Ifo

The widely disputed result of the 2006 national population census put the population of Ifo local government area at 539,170, with 269,206 males and 269,964 females.

Communities In Ifo

Languages Spoken In Ifo

The Weather In Ifo

Schools In Ifo

Primary Schools In Ifo

Secondary Schools In Ifo

Tertiary Institutions In Ifo

Hospitals In Ifo

Real Estate In Ifo

Works In Ifo

Restaurants In Ifo

Markets In Ifo

Fun Places In Ifo