Compare Listings

Odeda is a local government area in Ogun State, with headquarters in the town of Odeda. Odeda local government area is in Ogun Central Senatorial Zone alongside Ifo, Ewekoro, Obafemi Owode, Abeokuta North and Abeokuta South local government areas. Odeda local government area also forms a federal constituency alongside Abeokuta North and Obafemi Owode local government areas.

Odeda local government area covers an area of 1,560 km². The local government area is bounded to the north, west and east by Oyo State, and to the south by Obafemi Owode, Abeokuta North and Abeokuta South local government areas.

The History Of Odeda

Odeda local government area of Ogun State happened to be part of the defunct Egba Divisional Council, until it was carved out in October 1955 by the Action Group Political Party Controlled Western Nigeria Government under the able leadership of late Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

Odeda was at various times administered as Egba Odeda District Council, which was originally a Constituent of the defunct Egba Division Council and later as part of the Egba Council which embraced the defunct Abeokuta Urban District Council, Egba Ikereku District Council, Imala District Council, Egba Owode District Council, Egba Obafemi District Council, Egba Owode District Council and Egba Odeda Council.
This position was maintained until 1981 when the Civilian Administration of late Bisi Onabanjo split Odeda District Council into three Local Government areas namely, Odeda, Opeji and Ilugun.
They were, however, merged at the inception of the Military Administration of Major General Muhammad Buhari on 31st December, 1983, in order to maintain its pre-1981 status, as Odeda local government area, exercising the power and functions of a local government, as specified in section 58 to 72 of the Local Government Edict of 1976 that was conferred on it, in respect of its area of jurisdiction.

Until October 2016, Odeda local government area was one of the twenty (20) local government areas in Ogun State of which thirty seven (37) Local Council Development Areas (LCDA) were created.

In order to bring Government activities nearer to the people at the grassroots, Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, with the kind Legislative Approval and Legal framework of Ogun State House of Assembly, further carved Opeji and Ilugun, Local Council Development Areas, (LCDA), out of the Odeda local government area.

The Government Of Odeda

The Odeda local government council is in charge of public administration in Odeda. The council is led by a chairman who is the executive head of the local government.
The Odeda legislative council make laws governing Odeda local government area. It consists of 10 Councillors representing the 10 wards of the local government area.

Wards In Odeda

There are 10 wards in Odeda local government area of Ogun State. The 10 wards in Odeda local government area are:

  • Alabata
  • Alagbagba
  • Balogun itesi
  • Ilugun
  • Obantoko
  • Obete
  • Odeda
  • Olodo
  • Opeji
  • Osiele

The Population Of Odeda

The widely disputed result of the 2006 national population census put the population of Odeda local government area at 109,522, with 55,200 males and 54,322 females.

The Culture Of Odeda

Languages Spoken In Odeda

The Weather In Odeda

Schools In Odeda

Primary Schools In Odeda

Secondary Schools In Odeda

Tertiary Institutions In Odeda

Hospitals In Odeda

Real Estate In Odeda

Works In Odeda

Restaurants In Odeda

Markets In Odeda

Fun Places In Odeda