Compare Listings

Oyo is a state in Nigeria, with administrative capital in the city of Ibadan. Oyo State falls within the south-west geopolitical zone of Nigeria alongside Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo and Osun States.

Oyo State is located at 703.6 km south-west of Nigeria’s capital city of Abuja, and at 232.7 km south of the commercial city of Lagos.

Oyo State has an area of 28,454 km², making it the biggest state by area in the south-west geopolitical zone of Nigeria. The state is bounded to the north by Kwara State, to the east by Osun State, to the south by Ogun State, and to the west by the Republic of Benin.

Oyo State has 33 local government areas out of the 774 local government areas that constitute the Federal Republic of Nigeria alongside the 36 States.

The History Of Oyo State

Oyo State was created in 1976 by the regime of General Murtala Mohammed. The state came into being following the split of the defunct Western State.

At Nigeria’s independence in 1960, Oyo State was part of the Western Region, which existed as one of the three regions of Nigeria until 1963.

In 1963, the Mid-Western Region was carved out of the Western Region which the area now known as Oyo State was part of. The development brought to four the number of regions that constituted the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The area now known as Oyo State however remained part of what remained of the Western Region.

The regime of Major General JTU Aguiyi Ironsi, which came to power via a coup in 1966 dissolved the regional system and replaced it with a provincial system. The four regions became four provinces. The area now known as Oyo State was in the Western Province.

In 1967, a counter coup led to the enthronement of the regime of General Yakubu Gowon. The new regime quickly dissolved the provincial system put in place by the previous regime and replaced it with a twelve state federating structure. The area now known as Oyo State was in the Western State, which was one of the twelve states created by Gowon’s regime.

In 1976, the regime of General Murtala Ramat Mohammed embarked on another state creation exercise. This time, the Western State was split into three, and three states were formed from the split. Oyo State was one of these three states that also included Ondo State, with capital in Akure, and Ogun State, with capital in Abeokuta.

Oyo State has however not remained the same since its creation in 1976. In 1991, the regime of General Ibrahim Babangida excised its eastern half and formed a new state, by the name Osun State.

Colonel David Jemibewon is the first military governor of Oyo State, while Chief Bola Ige is the first civilian governor.

The Government Of Oyo State

The Oyo State Government, like every other state government in Nigeria is made up of three arms: the executive arm, the legislative arm and the judicial arm. The executive arm of the Oyo State government is headed by an executive governor elected by a majority of the state’s electorates. The governor is assisted by commissioners who he or she appoints to head the various ministries of the state government. The current governor of Oyo State is Abiola Ajimobi.

The legislative arm of the Oyo State Government which convenes at the Oyo State House of Assembly in Ibadan is made up of 33 members each elected by the electorates of each of the 33 state constituencies of Oyo State. The Oyo State House of Assembly is headed by a speaker who is the legislative head of the state government. The current speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly is Michael Adeyemo.

The judicial arm of the Oyo State Government is headed by the Oyo State Chief Judge. The current Chief Judge of Oyo State is Justice Munta Abimbola.

Zones In Oyo State

Oyo state has a total of 33 local government areas grouped into 3 units that are otherwise known as senatorial districts or zones. The 3 senatorial districts of Oyo state are:

  • Oyo Central
  • Oyo North
  • Oyo South

Oyo Central senatorial district is made up of 11 local government areas. The 11 local government areas of Oyo Central senatorial district are:

Oyo North senatorial district has 13 local government areas. The 13 local government areas of Oyo North senatorial district are:

Oyo South senatorial district has 9 local government areas. The 9 local government areas of Oyo South senatorial district are:

The Population Of Oyo State

The widely disputed result of the 2006 national population and housing census put the population of Oyo State at 5,580,894, with 2,802,432 males and 2,778,462 females.

The Culture Of Oyo State

Languages Spoken In Oyo State

The Weather In Oyo State

Schools In Oyo State

Healthcare In Oyo State

Real Estate In Oyo State

Works In Oyo State

Markets In Oyo State

Fun Places In Oyo State